Men: Pimp Up Your Fall Fashion!

Traveling always inspires me, especially when it is to the most cutting edge fashion countries in Europe….at least in in my humble opinion…The Nordics.

Sitting at the dinner table with my colleagues, a discussion spurred by my table companion to the left, Sef(a fashion icon in the flesh), got me super motivated to share my insights with you.

So if you are a man who wants to pimp up your fall wardrobe, or a woman who needs some inspiration for an upcoming date night reco(come on…I know you style your man, we all do) or gift, here are my top trends for men’s 2014 Fall Fashion:

1)Black is the New Black…in Denim at least. Yes, you can pull it off as long as it is great quality and not too stark. They should be comfy and cuffed…which brings me to my next tip…
Black is the new black

2) Cuffing is back and here to stay. Not only in casual looks but with tailored trousers as well. Learn how to cuff, my friends!
cuffs-ss

And because I knew you would ask…here is a “How To”. Extra points for the track and Air Max!

3) Who runs the world? These statement combat boots(these are Yves Saint Laurent but you can get an equally nice pair on Mr. Porter.Get ready for some major ass kicking with a pair of these. They can be worn with your favourite cuffed jean and will upgrade any outfit to instant cool. Also looks great with….
Boots

4) The new Sporty Chic Pant(or Trouser as the Brits say). Nothing says I want to be comfy, but I still want to look cool and on trend like these JCrew Sideline Pants. You can dress them up or down. Also cool in a moto style as well. I have already bought the “girl” version.
A6648_WP2331_s

5) Knits are all the rage. A cozy sweater will help you keep warm when the weather gets cooler. The styles on the runway are a bit too extreme for me, but a “real” interpretation is just a bit of bulk to exude warmth but not too much that you are swallowed up in the damn sweater. Kinda like this Missoni but H&M has some great ones too…

Knits
Knits

6) Plaid is Rad. There-I said it. You can combine the trend by wearing a plaid sweater if you are bold enough, or you can do it like this Junya Watanabe shirt…450394_mrp_ou_m2

which brings me to my next trend….

7) Combining Prints and Patterns. This topic brought a lot of debate at the dinner table, but I think it is so fresh to do this. Focus on complementing prints if you are new to the trend. As Sef said, he liked to wear the same exact print top and bottom, which looks great as well.

Patterns

8) The Bomber Jacket. I know I mentioned this in my previous post
Top 10 Closet Staples For Men but I can honestly say that a bomber jacket instantly upgrades your outfit. How F**ing cool does this guy look?

bomber-jacket-bally

9) Green with Envy. It is the colour of the season and every shade is on trend, but most cool are the darker, richer shades which remind us of the forest on a winter night. This trend is also cool head to toe, Like this Balmain look.

Love it!
Love it!

10) The upgraded Denim Shirt. Yup, it is here for the long haul so do not take it out of your closet rotation. This look from Loro Piana combines lots of trends but is still very wearable: Dressy Denim, Plaid, and Green!

Thrice as Nice
Twice as Nice

My last tip is more to do with doing some soul searching and letting it reflect on the outside. Do not dismiss the notion that people judge you from the first 3 seconds that they meet you. This is human instinct-Our brain tells us to assess whether we are attracted to that person and whether or not we can trust them. No joke blokes…so ……

11)Dress for the self you want to be, but still keep your authenticity-bring your flavour to the table. Think, where do I want to be in 10 years? Master of the Universe? Then god damn it, dress that way!.Upgrade Yourself

Hope the tips help you. Let me know if you have any others!

Next post will be on Women’s Fall Fashion.

As always, lots of love….

Mimi

2 thoughts on “Men: Pimp Up Your Fall Fashion!

Leave a comment